top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEvan Keever

Project 1: Value

Updated: Oct 16, 2018


(reference photo)

(reference photo)


For this project, I drew my rottweiler dog, Lexi. I made it with simple drawing pencils. By putting her in the middle of a blank background, it created dramatic contrast between her fur and the background, which emphasized her from the everything else. My dog, herself, creates a sense of unity due to her looking like a normal dog in my drawing.


The point behind this project was to be a special gift for my father. Lexi is my dad's only dog and I know how much he loves her so I wanted to create a gift for him.


For most of the project, I did a pretty good job. I re-created her head/ upper-body in a mostly realistic manner and it's easy to tell what it is. But, I do have to work on shading, using darker colors, and realism. If I were to change anything, it would be to create more dramatic contrast. Due to the semi-low resolution on the image I used, I had to use creative liberty on the inner-mouth and the eye so I could create an accurate looking dog face for my piece.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page